CoolComputing Logo
Coupons/Deals  ·  New Promo Codes/Coupons  · October 20, 2019

EBay Review + Feedback & Discussion

EBayYou can write a review for EBay and also view its ratings and comments posted by others.You can also see the latest coupons or promos currently available.

eBay has a daily DOTD going on currently. Beware that sometimes you can find a better deal on a similar product on eBay, however..

Read 8 Customer Reviews for EBay.

How is the price of the products/service offered compared to the competition? (10 = cheapest found, 5 = average) - 1 person rated the prices offered by the store a score of 7.6
How long did it take for you to get a reply from customer service? - 1 hours on average experienced by 1 person hour(s)

User-Submitted Reviews of EBay & Testimonials

Sort Reviews by: Best Rated or Newest

InTheCountry reviewer photoPosted by InTheCountry (2 years ago)

Can't Post Feedback on Seller Cancelled Item

So I bought a carry on luggage (condition shown as New with tags) on eBay yesterday, and the seller went ahead and cancelled the order. In their communication with me via private message, they said:

"We went on to perform quality check on the item as usual. However, we noticed wears and tears on the product due to production errors. It is completely against our policy to sell imperfect goods to our dear customers and because this is the last item in our stock Hope we have a chance to serve you again! Could you request a cancel on your end, so I can issue you a full refund right after I get the cancel authorization from you".

They then proceeded to cancel the item under the reason of "Buyer asked to cancel the order." What a bunch of crock. So basically my shipping & other info was taken without the seller even shipping it. What is more infuriating is that the seller has went ahead and listed the same item, with the same condition of New with Tags.

I complained to eBay about it, and they said they would investigate the seller. When I asked how to leave feedback, it turns that I cannot even leave one. Highlights from my chat with customer service (Lawrence = the eBay CSR rep):

Lawrence 13:04 PM: I am unsure of their motive behind canceling and relisting without making any edits to the listing. But, I will have this looked into further for the strange behavior.

Me 13:04 PM: I hope so because this has been a total waste of time

Me 13:05 PM: And dissuades me from using ebay as much in the future

Me 13:05 PM: How do I leave feedback for this, by the way?

Lawrence 13:07 PM: To leave feedback you will need to go to your purchase history page, then select the Canceled Items section to locate the item, then select the option to leave feedback.

Me 13:09 PM: I don't see the option- it says: Contact Seller, Apple case, Sell this item, etc but not feedback

Lawrence 13:11 PM: I just saw that as well. That option should be there. It might be missing because of the reason the seller canceled, which is the reason I will be reporting them.

Lawrence 13:11 PM: I will have to make my design team aware that this feature is not being presented when it should.

Me 13:12 PM: That's ridiculous I can't even leave feedback and warn others about this seller; who knows how many others have had the same experience

Lawrence 13:13 PM: I agree. This is very inconvenient. I am going to get these issues escalated quickly.

Lawrence 13:15 PM: I know this is far from the resolution you were seeking, but I will have to report the seller on the back end. And I will need to have this tech issue reported as well.

Me 13:15 PM: Hopefully I can leave feedback soon:

Lawrence 13:16 PM: I would check that again in another 24 hours, that is the first I have seen of that feature disappearing.

Lawrence 13:16 PM: I would check that again in another 24 hours, that is the first I have seen of that feature disappearing.

Lawrence 13:25 PM: The seller has been reported, and the trouble ticket has been submitted. Is there anything else that I may assist you with today?

Me 13:26 PM: No- thanks for your help. I will check back regarding this tomorrow.

Lawrence 13:27 PM: I understand. I will document everything we went over.

Bought: Carry On Luggage

Order Date: 2018-03-30

Cons:
  • Seller can cancel an order and indicate that buyer requested cancel even though the buyer did not
  • Unable to leave feedback in this situation
  • Sensitive info leaked to seller
  • Was this review helpful for you?

      +4

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    4 out of 4 people said 'YES'

    168950

    Dave reviewer photoPosted by Dave (5 years ago)

    Story of Buying From Fraudulent eBay Listing

    So last night I was looking on eBay for some deals on the iPad air 2 or the original iPad air, and I found one with a really good price, with 4G too at under $200. It was by a seller with a 900+ rating, and zero negative feedback. So I pulled the trigger, making the purchase using the eBay bucks I had earned in the prior months, plus a eBay gift card I had bought for myself ($100 for $90) a few weeks back.

    This morning, I got an email from eBay saying that the account of the seller was compromised, but contained no detail on how I was to get my money back. I immediately opened a case with came with a request reference #. The seller did not get back to me quickly, so after about 12 hours I went ahead and called eBay customer service phone #. After about 10 minutes on hold, the CSR I spoke to said that she would transfer me to the "Escalation department" which could likely process my refund right away.

    I had to wait another 20 minutes on the phone. Chris, the guy I spoke to, then had to review my case again, and then put me on hold for another 10 minutes complete the refund, which wouldn't be added to my account for another 48 hours. Total time spent on the phone = 42 minutes. If I hadn't called, who knows how long I would have had to wait to get resolution.

    So the lesson learned for me was this- if the price seem too cheap too be possible, then it likely is. Even if the product being auctioned with buy-it-now is by a super-reliable seller with perfect feedback, you never know if their account had been hacked. Certainly this has been a big waste of time and hassle, and I wish that eBay could have been more pro-active in terms of providing refund right away instead of forcing me to spend time calling and opening a case, etc. I mean they knew the transactions were fraudulent, and I was not the only one scammed in this case. This seller had multiple listings where I noticed many buyers had bit.

    Bought: iPad Air 32GB 4G LTE

    Order Date: 2015-01-05

    Pros:
  • got my money back
  • Cons:
  • had to go through a lot of hassle to get the refund

  • Customer Contacted EBay Via:
    (866) 540-3229

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +4

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    4 out of 4 people said 'YES'

    163070

    Posted by Dave (9 years ago)

    This is a review for the Elite Pro SD 32GB card I bought from eBay. It was shipped overseas from China or Hong Kong. On its label it says it is 3.3V with the number 94110-925.A00LF 20456871. It is total garbage. I bought this for like $25 on eBay a couple months ago. I copy a bunch of files to it- maybe around 12 gigs worth. Copying was very slow, but I didn't mind since the price was so cheap. Then I don't use it for a couple months, next thing you know it doesn't work anymore. I put it into my Windows PC and it says it needs to be formatted. Crap- I thought to myself, but okay fine what else can I do. The capacity indicated now says 1.87 TB which was really weird. So I went ahead and click format and Windows says it can't be formatted. Total piece of sh*t. DO NOT buy this card or even any of these too good to be true cheap SD cards from eBay.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +3

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    3 out of 3 people said 'YES'

    82390

    Posted by IBuyer (2 years ago)

    Got Money Back Even After 6 Months

    In March I bought a logo making software (Sothink Logo Maker Professional) from eBay. About a week later, when I first installed and used it, I discovered that I could not update it. I was pretty sure that instead of a legal license, I was sent a "cracked" version of the software. So I private messaged the seller about this, but he never got back to me, and I forgot about it.

    I had bought many software licenses from eBay, including Windows 10 licenses, and they all turned out to be legit except this one.

    Fast forward 6 months. The other day, I needed to whip up a logo, so I launched the Sothink Logo Maker Professional again. Could not update of course, and when I finished the design and tried to export it to either PNG or JPG, I got a blank dialog box.

    So I chatted with eBay customer service, basically just to report this particular user who sold the software, but the rep ended up giving me a gift certificate equivalent to the value of what I paid. That is above and beyond the call of duty IMO.

    Bought: Sothink Logo Maker Professional

    Order Date: 2017-03-06

    Pros:
  • Got money back in form of GC
  • Was this review helpful for you?

      +2

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    2 out of 2 people said 'YES'

    168320

    eBayer reviewer photoPosted by eBayer (3 years ago)

    eBay Bucks Refund After Seller Fail to Deliver

    I bought a $50 McDonald's gift card from Card Cash from eBay at the end of last month (July 2016). Sidenote: AVOID Card Cash at all costs. Basically I never received the gift card. There was zero tracking info, and when I complained to them, they treated me as a liar, kept mentioning their "legal" department, and wanting me to digitally sign an agreement that if in case I do get the card, I would not use it. There was no proof those jerks even sent the card.

    But eventually I did get a refund. My concern though was that the eBay bucks I used would now be expired, since they only are active for ~30 days. So I contacted eBay support, and they told me that you can actually use the same "code" to apply to a new purchase, and that the it would expire after ~21 days. The annoying thing was that they do not tell you that on the website, and that I had to look in my email for the one that contained the issuance for the original eBay bucks code. That is in contrast to a normal situation where you have eBay bucks credit, and at the checkout page there is a checkbox that enables you to automatically apply the value without entering a code.

    So to any of you who ever used eBay bucks for a transaction which eventually result in a refund, grab the code from the issuance email and you can re-apply it, with a new expiration date of several weeks off.

    Bought: McDonald's Gift Card $50 for $42

    Pros:
  • refunded eBay bucks have new expiration of about 3 weeks
  • Cons:
  • eBay makes it more difficult to reapply refunded eBay Bucks
  • Was this review helpful for you?

      +2

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    2 out of 2 people said 'YES'

    167230

    Corey M. reviewer photoPosted by Corey M. (3 years ago)

    Error Codes: 70266 PERMISSION_DENIED 70245

    Last night there was a 15% off promotion on some travel gift cards sold by Paypal Digital Gifts on eBay, so I tried to get in on the deal. I had about $800 of GC's in cart. But as I clicked the "proceed to checkout" button in cart, I got the following error:

    We can't process your PayPal payment.

    If you get this message more than once, please contact PayPal customer support for further assistance

    Error Codes: 70266 PERMISSION_DENIED 70245" message.

    So I called customer service, and she asked me to try a different browser- no luck. Then kept asking me to do CTRL-ALT-DEL (WTH?) Then she put me on hold a couple of times, came back and asked me like 5 security questions like the ones you would get when you apply for a home loan or something, lol. Afterwards it still didn't work, and she said to wait an hour. Whatever so I went to bed, woke up, and of course the deal is over.

    Just for kicks I tried checking out with 2 $100 gift cards again, and it did let me proceed- no more errors. So I added one more $100 gift card, and lo and behold, the same darn error message. Now I can't even buy something for $1 without incurring the same error. What a whack job of a fraud prevention system. eBay just lost nearly $1000 of business from me. What a time wasting, frustrating experience.

    Bought: digital gift cards

    Cons:
  • cannot even buy gift cards totaling over apparently $300
  • Was this review helpful for you?

      +2

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    2 out of 2 people said 'YES'

    166770

    Troy reviewer photoPosted by Troy (4 years ago)

    eBay Only Allowed for One Coupon Per Order

    Recently I got a $25 off coupon from a selling promotion. Today I logged into My eBay and there was a $10 off $50 for garden/home products. Awesome I can combine both coupons for some serious savings. Unfortunately that was not the case. When I was paying for my order, I first did the Labor Day code, but once I applied the $25 one, it erased the previous coupon.

    Ugh- what I ended up doing was skipped using the seller promo coupon since that doesn't expire until 9/11, while the $10 off would only be applicable for the next 2 days.

    Oh well at least I had some eBay gift certificates that were bought at less than face value for extra discount. But yeah they did not allow for the stacking. Now if I find out the eBay bucks can't stack with the $25 either, I would not be a happy camper....

    Bought: hydroponics,seeds

    Pros:
  • Got a nice saving
  • Cons:
  • Too bad couldn't get more since only 1 coupon was allowed
  • Was this review helpful for you?

      +1

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    1 person said 'YES'

    165180

    Posted by Bobby (1 decade ago)

    I like to shop at Ebay.com because I want to be smart with my shopping - i like low priced products. I have saved lots of money by buying stuffs from Ebay. However, you should always make sure what you buy and who you buy it from; meaning that you should check the back ground of the sellers and read carefully on the descriptions of the items (trust me guys, i'm speaking from my own experiences).

    One thing i also want to mention that don't always assume that ebay offers you the best price for your product(s), always check other places online stores before you do your bidding on Ebay. Again, I'm speaking from my experiences. But overall, ebay is a great place to shop.

    Be smart with your money and have fun shopping :)

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +1

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    1 person said 'YES'

    18950

    Readers Interested in The Above Reviews Also Read




    Readers Also Viewed These Deals





    Submit a Ebay review & rating re: good/bad customer service, price w/ discounts, coupons and promotions + the quality / effectiveness of the product(s)/service(s). Have you been scammed by EBay? You can write a Ebay complaint or post a warning about Ebay including Ebay's service or product safety. Or as a happy client you can describe the great products & services offered. Share your feedback with others. You can use bbcodes such as [b] and [i]

    Ebay Rating: 3.2/5 (43 votes cast) [7 votes came from reviews] 8 reviews by users total.

    Ebay Review Ratings Distribution Chart
     1 
     43% 
     2 
     0% 
     3 
     43% 
     4 
     0% 
     5 
     14% 
    Your Name:
    I have read and agreed to the Review Posting Agreement.
    Review Title:
    Comment/Review:

    Back to Online Store Reviews Directory or back to top.