CoolComputing Logo
Coupons/Deals  ·  New Promo Codes/Coupons  · May 24, 2018

Road Bike Outlet Review + Feedback & Discussion

Road Bike OutletYou can write a review for Road Bike Outlet and also view its ratings and comments posted by others.

Read 23 Customer Reviews for Road Bike Outlet.

How is the price of the products/service offered compared to the competition? (10 = cheapest found, 5 = average) - 3 people rated the prices offered by the store a score of 7.87
How long did it take for you to get a reply from customer service? - 2.67 hours on average experienced by 3 people hour(s)

User-Submitted Reviews of Road Bike Outlet & Testimonials

Sort Reviews by: Best Rated or Newest

Posted by C. Barca (7 years ago)

What a nightmare! I placed an online order (#500007474) with Road Bike Outlet on April, 25, 2011 for a Kestrel Talon Road Bike. When the bike was delivered several days later by UPS, the shipping box was completely open, severely battered, including an eight inch gash through the side of the box which resulted in multiple gouges to the bike's finish. There were pieces missing from the box including the saddle, seat post, parts box, any and all paperwork such as inventory list and warranty.

I called the Road Bike Outlet immediately to inform them of the situation. I spoke with Susan who explained it was already close to closing time (Friday, May 6, 2011) and that most likely I wouldn't hear back from anyone until the following Monday as the Outlet is closed over the weekends. I composed a letter to RBO right away explaining the condition in which the shipment arrived and included a dozen or so photos.

When I didn't receive a response from customer service by Tuesday, May 10th I called hoping to speak with someone who could help me. Suzanna took over from this point but really all she accomplished was giving me the run around and wasting another week of my time with no resolution.

Leonard was the next in line to "help" me. At first he seemed very apologetic about the delayed response from RBO and assured me he would do everything possible to expedite and correct the situation. Leonard sent me a return label for the damaged bike and said he would order a replacement bike post haste which he expected to receive at his place of business by the first of this week and then ship to me in California.

Expecting to receive a tracking number for the new bike I instead received the following e-mail from Leonard on May 17th:

Hi C,

I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but we unfortunately we will not be able to fulfill your order for a replacement Kestrel. I am processing your refund, if you have any questions please contact me and I will be happy to answer them. I'm sorry about this turn of events. Have a great day.

Best Regards,

Leonard

Customer Support

866-545-5759

So nearly a month has gone by between placing my order with Road Bike Outlet and receiving word of this "resolution". When I asked Leonard about what happened to the replacement order he actually offered two different excuses: One, that Kestrel did not have this bike in stock and that they would not be in stock any time soon. Two, that Road Bike Outlet can no longer order Kestrel bikes. The problem I have with that second explanation is that Road Bike Outlet still offers Kestrel bikes on its web site. Also, I have since spoken with a representative from Kestrel USA who said basically "nonsense", they have plenty of these bikes in stock.

The bottom line is that I would suggest proceeding with extreme caution if you are considering doing business with the Road Bike Outlet.

Was this review helpful for you?

  +15

  -4
Reply
Toggle Comment Form









15 out of 19 people said 'YES'

123470

Posted by Don Davis (6 years ago)

Many problems - no resolution

I purchased a bike for my son. It was poorly packaged and was scratched when it arrived. We decided not to try to return it. After about 1 day of riding, one pedal stripped. When I called Road Bike Outlet, they claimed I must have cross-threaded it, and said there was no warranty unless it was assembled by a pro bike shop. I took it to a shop and had it repaired, but it broke again due to defect in the part. When I called RBO again, they said that the bike shop was responsible. So, if you do not take it to a shop, they claim no warranty. If you do, they claim the shop is responsible for any problems. Be warned - NO customer service here.

Pros:
  • Low price
  • Cons:
  • Poor quality
  • poor packaging
  • no customer service.
  • Was this review helpful for you?

      +7

      -2
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    7 out of 9 people said 'YES'

    137060

    Posted by Clyde (8 years ago)

    I absolutely love my Vilano Forza I purchased from roadbikeoutlet. Customer service (Suzanna & Leny) was very helpful. I'm glad I purchased the pro build option, the bike arrived pre assembled and tuned. I just had to attach handlebars and pedals and the bike was ready to go.

    I'd recommend to anyone looking to buy a great bike at a fantastic price.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +7

      -3
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    7 out of 10 people said 'YES'

    94120

    Posted by Pamela Dykes (5 years ago)

    Worst EVER

    WORST EBAY STORE EVER…...I have purchased a Car and a Motorcycle on EBay and this simple little Bike purchase has absolutely been the worse experience of my Ebay life. The Bike was ordered May 6 as of today May 22 I still have not been able to even mount my Bike. The Bike was received from UPS with no damage showing on the box. During assembly we found the front fork tip was badly bent...so I assumed I would pack up the Bike and send back at their cost and receive a replacement. & “Snippy” Phillip in their Customer Support rep informed me if I returned the Bike for exchange I would be charged a restock fee of 20% plus all S&H fees to and from. He said I should find a local Bike shop and let them analyze the level of repair to either bend the fork back or replace fork. I said I would prefer a replacement and was told only if Bike shop couldn’t repair the damaged. He also said I should pay for repairs and they would then reimburse me which I flatly refused to do and I advised that he should make arrangements for payment with the shop. I reminded him that I paid for a new undamaged Bike in good working order and if I had wanted a Bike that needed repairs I would have purchased a used Bike on Craig’s List...his response was “well we didn’t want a damaged Bike either”. What….really Phillip!!! He also said he did me a favor by agreeing to pay for repairs because they don't usually pay for labor on repairs they just send replacement parts. This is amazing to me that this company seems to think they can ship out damaged product and require the buyer to pay for the repair of their damaged product. It really makes me THINK the reason the prices are lower is because they are knowingly shipping out seconds or damaged Bikes. I ride with a club in St. Louis, Kansas City and in my home area in Southern California when I’m there and I will forever voice my disfavor and put the word out to “NEVER EVER” buy from this company the small savings of $10- $15 is not worth the problems that follow. “The Vilano Performance Hybrid Bike” is great value and is available from different vendor on Amazon and that’s where I should have ordered from as my friend did. The irony is that my friend ordered the same Bike from an Amazon vendor a full week after I did and received it in 3.5 days and they haven’t missed a ride and once the tune-up was done and they hit the trails of St Charles(without me). It was only a $10-$15 dollars difference and to my dissatisfaction I have missed (2) local rides and when I asked for the owner’s or manager’s contact info from “Snippy” Phillip told me didn’t have access to that information, because I was going to request expedited shipping from someone who could make that decision as “Snippy” Phillip had refused to expedite the part shipment.

    I remain a very dissatisfied anxious rider with no bike as of today!!

    Bought: Vilano Performance Hybrid Flat Bar Commuter Road Bike 700c - 21 Speed Shimano #130899859701

    Order Date: 2013-05-06

    Date Received: 2013-05-10

    Pros:
  • Love the Bike! Just wish I had it to ride...or at least better ustomer service
  • Cons:
  • every step after delivery
  • Was this review helpful for you?

      +4

      -1
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    4 out of 5 people said 'YES'

    154780

    Posted by STEVE WEINGART (6 years ago)

    OUT OF THE BOX ON THE ROAD

    Road Bike Outlet exceeded all my expectations! My Vilano Comfort Hybrid came out of the box almost ready to ride! Really surprised me, attached the seat,handlebar, pedals,front wheel,that was almost perfetly tuned! The online assembly instructions were a big help but the printed version was not so good. Customer service was great and helped me change delivery instructions mid shipment! I was a bit suspect about my first big online purchase after having a few hicups getting the bike purchased on the website but highly satisfied, rate the overall experience very good and will recommend it to my friends and family.

    Pros:
  • READY TO RIDE OUT OF THE BOX
  • GREAT ONLINE INSTRUCTIONS
  • Cons:
  • PRINTED INSTRUCTIONS NOT SO GOOD
  • Was this review helpful for you?

      +2

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    2 out of 2 people said 'YES'

    142860

    Posted by Lindsay Stay (5 years ago)

    How much can I truly praise this company?

    Honestly I couldn't as for better customer service from Suzanna, Jamison and Phillip. They all helped me order my bike and even a month later replace the back tire that was stolen. They were eve kind enough to help me laugh off the situation after losing a bit of sleep the night after.

    Not only do I appreciate their kindness, but their willingness to help. I was able to ask any questions while my bike was being shipped and it felt like I was talking to an old friend on the phone.

    The bikes are you get what you pay for. If you want a reliable bike that looks great and gets you place to place with out spending too much, this is the place to go.

    However, if you are a bike guru and are looking for a bike that is the highest quality you can get, but want a discount, I would suggest going straight to a bike store and talking with someone. In my mind the bikes here are great for the price. Just don't expect a $1,000 bike for the $250 price tag.

    Thank you for everything! I would order from here again.

    Bought: Vilano Fixed Gear

    Order Date: 2013-08-15

    Date Received: 2013-08-20

    Pros:
  • How much can I truly praise this company. Honestly I couldn't as for better customer service from Suzanna
  • Jamison and Phillip. They all helped me order my bike and even a month later replace the back tire that was stolen. They were eve kind enough to help me laugh off the situation after losing a bit of sleep the night after.

    Not only do I appreciate their kindness
  • but their willingness to help. I was able to ask any questions while my bike was being shipped and it felt like I was talking to an old friend on the phone.

    Thank you for everything! I would order from here again.
  • Cons:
  • The bikes are you get what you pay for. If you want a reliable bike that looks great and gets you place to place with out spending too much
  • this is the place to go.

    However
  • if you are a bike guru and are looking for a bike that is the highest quality you can get
  • but want a discount
  • I would suggest going straight to a bike store and talking with someone. In my mind the bikes here are great for the price. Just don't expect a $1
  • 000 bike for the $250 price tag.
  • Was this review helpful for you?

      +1

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    1 person said 'YES'

    157240

    Posted by Phil (5 years ago)

    Road Bike Outlet

    I bought a bike from them online, delivered to me, box was in good condition, no sign of abuse at all. Inside the bike was packaged well, however the neck seal was loose, a spoke was broke off right out of the box. The rear hub made a noise. The bike was delivered in poor condition. They wanted to repair it, well that would take more time and money from me, and I didn't want that which is why i bought a new bike! They said I can return it to them but shipping will be non-refundable. So they sent me a broken bike and it is the customers responsibility to pay for shipping. Don't buy from them online. Poor customer service, and the website says satisfaction guaranteed, sure but you will pay for that satisfaction

    Bought: Bought a fixie bike

    Order Date: 2013-07-12

    Date Received: 2013-07-19

    Pros:
  • decent price
  • Cons:
  • bike sent in poor condition
    Don't stand behind product
    Unwilling to keep customer satisfied
  • Was this review helpful for you?

      +1

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    1 person said 'YES'

    156760

    Posted by nina (7 years ago)

    I bought a vilano single speed in august. It has been terrific, especially for the price. I was just looking them up to buy another for xmas. Excellent bikes and excellent service, I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +5

      -4
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    5 out of 9 people said 'YES'

    103590

    Posted by Michael M (3 years ago)

    POOR

    The old adage, "You get what you pay for," is certainly true in this situation. The idea of a budget friendly trainer is a novel one, however, not accomplished here. The stand is heavy, however, welds are poorly done and spotty in certain areas. Even with its weight, it is not as sturdy as other trainers I have used. The resistance lever dial was also not functioning, so I returned the item after finding out this. I cannot comment on long term use, but when I tested it, operation was very jerky at best. If you are looking for an indoor trainer, I would say look elsewhere if you plan on using this trainer more then once a week. Spend the money and invest in a quality piece if you need long term training. RBO customer service is poorly trained. I told two customer service reps the product was defective and no one offered return shipping. It wasn't until I poorly review the product that someone contacted me. Meanwhile, I had already shipped the product USPS and now they refuse to refund me shipping costs. AVOID RBO!!

    Bought: Indoor Exercise Bike Trainer Stand with Quick Release and Shifter,
    #50005964

    Order Date: 2015-01-10

    Date Received: 2015-01-15


    Customer Contacted Road Bike Outlet Via:
    (814) 464-5858
    michaelmezz@gmail.com

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +0

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form








    163250

    Posted by Samantha (5 years ago)

    Amazing product and fantastic customer service

    I ordered a Vilano bike with a pro build. Jamyson and Phillip were very helpful and I love my new bike. Shipping was fast and the assembly was easy. The video was helpful for my specific bike. I do think additional videos would be helpful for other bike types. Thank you!

    Bought: Vilano Forza 4.0

    Order Date: 2013-07-01

    Date Received: 2013-07-05

    Pros:
  • Great customer service
  • easy to assemble
  • sweet looking bike
  • Cons:
  • more videos would be helpful
  • Was this review helpful for you?

      +0

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form








    156620

    Posted by dung (8 years ago)

    the bike perform really well and under priced for its quality

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +5

      -5
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    5 out of 10 people said 'YES'

    80030

    Posted by Jeff (8 years ago)

    The service was quick and my emails responded to in a timely fashion...which is not always the case with sites like this. Good bikes and good service.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +5

      -5
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    5 out of 10 people said 'YES'

    63970

    Posted by indaknow (6 years ago)

    Writes own reviews

    This company trolls reviews websites and deposits their own good reviews. Beware of review trolls!

    This company does not stand behind their products and always blames broken parts on delivery. They knowingly ship broken bikes.

    Mine looked like it was assembled by a trained monkey.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +1

      -3
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    3 out of 4 people said 'NO'

    Canada flag   Review came from Canada.
    142350

    Posted by Jason (8 years ago)

    Awesome bikes for beginners and experts at great prices.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +5

      -7
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    7 out of 12 people said 'NO'

    77930

    Posted by Jeff (8 years ago)

    Excellent selection of bikes for those budget minded people. Free shipping is also great.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +5

      -7
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    7 out of 12 people said 'NO'

    72840

    Posted by Patrick (8 years ago)

    Amazing single speed bikes!! Really cheap too

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +4

      -7
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    7 out of 11 people said 'NO'

    78960

    Posted by Michael Shelly-Moody (7 years ago)

    Road Bike Outlet Came Through

    When Josh, from Road Bike Outlet, became aware of my issues he contacted me and the matter was quickly resolved!

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +7

      -11
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    11 out of 18 people said 'NO'

    127440

    Posted by joey (8 years ago)

    good prices on all the bikes. also the shipping was quick

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +5

      -9
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    9 out of 14 people said 'NO'

    66800

    Posted by houstanrojas (7 years ago)

    Fantastic Discount Offers of Road Bike Outlet

    I don't remember any bikes' company or manufacturer who provide amazing discounts on their products. Road bike outlet is going to do this for you. I really was amazed to know about their stuff and services when I came through them. They surprised me for sure when I read about their services and customer supports. Moreover, I was being entertained 24 hours a day by road bike outlet's staff and this provided me with lot of trust and satisfaction in this regard.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +3

      -8
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    8 out of 11 people said 'NO'

    Pakistan flag   Review came from Pakistan.
    130470

    Posted by Jerry Alhambra (8 years ago)

    Gavin Bike is awesome!! no better deal

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +4

      -9
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    9 out of 13 people said 'NO'

    72020

    Posted by Aaron RM (8 years ago)

    Excellent selection of bikes and great quality. Good customer reviews.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +4

      -10
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    10 out of 14 people said 'NO'

    Canada flag   Review came from Canada.
    73290

    Posted by garfield (8 years ago)

    I seems that they offer a low price, attractive.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +5

      -13
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    13 out of 18 people said 'NO'

    89230

    Posted by Harry (7 years ago)

    Excellent Customer Services Of Road Bike Outlet

    I had purchased bikes from many bike shops but I never got satisfied from their

    services. Road bike outlet is one of those renowned bike shops which provide amazing

    services to their customers. They may include shipments, awesome discount rates, and

    lot more. Moreover, they provide customers with satisfaction guarantee feature which

    means that customer can either return or replace his purchased product anytime within

    the limit being mentioned at their website. I would recommend you to have a quick look

    at their website for detailed specifications of bikes and company’s services.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +3

      -13
    1 Reply
    Toggle Comment Form








    What idiot from the Road Bike Outlet thought actually thought this comment was going to fool anyone?

    13 out of 16 people said 'NO'

    Pakistan flag   Review came from Pakistan.
    130190

    Readers Interested in The Above Reviews Also Read























    Submit a Road Bike Outlet review & rating re: good/bad customer service, price w/ discounts, coupons and promotions + the quality / effectiveness of the product(s)/service(s). Have you been scammed by Road Bike Outlet? You can write a Road Bike Outlet complaint or post a warning about Road Bike Outlet including Road Bike Outlet's service or product safety. Or as a happy client you can describe the great products & services offered. Share your feedback with others.

    Road Bike Outlet Rating: 3.4/5 (42 votes cast) [22 votes came from reviews] 23 reviews by users total.

    Road Bike Outlet Review Ratings Distribution Chart
     1 
     23% 
     2 
     0% 
     3 
     0% 
     4 
     36% 
     5 
     41% 
    Your Name:
    I have read and agreed to the Review Posting Agreement.
    Review Title:
    Comment/Review:

    Comment Using Facebook

    Back to Online Store Reviews Directory or back to top.