CoolComputing Logo
Coupons/Deals  ·  New Promo Codes/Coupons  · February 23, 2018

Carbonite Review + Feedback & Discussion

CarboniteYou can write a review for Carbonite and also view its ratings and comments posted by others.You can also see the latest coupons or promos currently available.

Read 10 Customer Reviews for Carbonite.

How is the price of the products/service offered compared to the competition? (10 = cheapest found, 5 = average)
How long did it take for you to get a reply from customer service? hour(s)

User-Submitted Reviews of Carbonite & Testimonials

Sort Reviews by: Best Rated or Newest

Posted by S Petrilli (7 years ago)

I have not had any bad experiences with Carbonite Support. The one time I had a question about the Carbonite software creating multiple .log files every day, I reported the problem via the carbonite software. I received an answer and the solution within a day. So I am pleased with Carbonite. I still have 2 years and 2+months left on my subscription.

It took a month+ for carbonite to complete the initial backup of my PC (I had 24+ gigabytes), but it ran in the background and did not impact the performance of my PC. Occasionally I will pause or disable Carbonite for 8 hours or so when I know I am making a of changes and then I start or enable it once I am done.

The product appears to work as advertised. I am just waiting for them to offer some sort of loyalty reward or incentive to their existing customers. If they do not, then I will switch to Mozy or just go out and buy a couple terrabytes of external disk storage as the price of disk storage is dropping like a rock.

Was this review helpful for you?

  +6

  -0
Reply
Toggle Comment Form









6 out of 6 people said 'YES'

105830

Posted by Steve Shaw (7 years ago)

The product itself is excellent. While an initial back up may take days, there is no problem shutting down your computer in the middle of the back up. It automatically restarts. And if you need bandwidth, you can set it to back up only when usage is low. However, I am concerned with the discount offers that they put out there and then don't live up to. I tried to buy through a software purchase I made and it wouldn't accept the discount. Customer servicewouldn't give it to me. Finally, a manager extended my free trial to a longer period to provide a similar benefit. Now, when I try to renew, I can't use any of the discounts that are offered to reduce the price. So beware their "discount" offers.

Was this review helpful for you?

  +4

  -0
Reply
Toggle Comment Form









4 out of 4 people said 'YES'

108300

Posted by Joseph (9 years ago)

While Carbonite offers an excellent back up tool,

their customer service is the worst I have ever encountered. One MUST pay $19.95 for tech phone support, but I have given up after 20 mins on hold, then one hour on hold, and their Live Chat is even worse with somethimes 30 people in queue. They answer emails 8 days later. It is an abuse of people's time and if you subscribe, you are basically on your own.

Was this review helpful for you?

  +3

  -0
Reply
Toggle Comment Form









3 out of 3 people said 'YES'

15040

Sam M. reviewer photoPosted by Sam M. (6 years ago)

Got $38 Off Carbonite

Just wanted to share that I did a lot of research on which web-based file backup to get, & Carbonite was overall highest on the checklist of features. I was also able to get $38 off using the 20% offer link for three years. As a freelance journalist I really appreciate the discount. My files are being backed up beautifully on my ASUS Zenbook as I type this.

Cheers,

Sam

Pros:
  • discount worked
  • Cons:
  • why can't it be cheaper or at least give a few months free? ;-)
  • Was this review helpful for you?

      +2

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form









    2 out of 2 people said 'YES'

    135740

    Posted by ab csdsd (7 years ago)

    IT

    good and fast program for backups. unlimited space is great.

    Price is not bad and it's fast and reliable.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +0

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form








    128470

    Posted by LENNY (7 years ago)

    It's pretty effortless. Would not recommend using for online music files, like napster, as it takes too long to load them.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +0

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form








    85500

    Posted by johnathan (8 years ago)

    Works great with OSX! backup was easy.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +0

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form








    79530

    Posted by Douglas H (8 years ago)

    I researched many online backup services and finally decided on Carbonite.com. It works well and I feel more at easy with the prospect of any possible data loss. My only quip is that my broadband upload speed is slow compared to my download. It's only like 45K max. I wish I have some sort of mega-fast broadband like the FIOS service by Verizon. Other than that thus far it's working good.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +0

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form








    54230

    Posted by Karen Griffith (8 years ago)

    My first computer "crashed" and I was unable to recover our family history. This was 3 years work and I was devastated, to say the least. My second computer arrived and I immediately purchased Carbonite. Well, a few years later, the same thing, computer "crashed" but this time, everything on my computer was saved. Thank you Carbonite, the money was well spent.

    I have and would recommemd Carbonite to everyone I know. The agony of losing data is eased by just logging onto their web site and downloading all that important data that would be lost forever. I give them a 5 star rating.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +0

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form








    41600

    Posted by Knowlengr (8 years ago)

    It may be that the service is still evolving, or that complicated issues just don't get solved. The underlying technology is promising.

    Was this review helpful for you?

      +0

      -0
    Reply
    Toggle Comment Form








    40120

    Readers Interested in The Above Reviews Also Read



















    Readers Also Viewed These Deals














    Submit a Carbonite review & rating re: good/bad customer service, price w/ discounts, coupons and promotions + the quality / effectiveness of the product(s)/service(s). Have you been scammed by Carbonite? You can write a Carbonite complaint or post a warning about Carbonite including Carbonite's service or product safety. Or as a happy client you can describe the great products & services offered. Share your feedback with others.

    Carbonite Rating: 3.4/5 (90 votes cast) [7 votes came from reviews] 10 reviews by users total.

    Carbonite Review Ratings Distribution Chart
     1 
     0% 
     2 
     0% 
     3 
     0% 
     4 
     29% 
     5 
     71% 
    Your Name:
    I have read and agreed to the Review Posting Agreement.
    Review Title:
    Comment/Review:

    Comment Using Facebook

    Back to Online Store Reviews Directory or back to top.